See Your Elevations As Call For Responsibilities – Olubadan To Newly-promoted Chiefs

Olubadan of Ibadanland, Oba (Dr) Lekan Balogun, Alli Okunmade ll, has charged the newly-promoted chiefs in the Ibadan Traditional Council system to see their elevations as a call for additional responsibilities.

Oba Balogun made the charge, on Friday, at the Aliiwo Dynasty Palace where he performed his first traditional duty after his coronation, exactly two weeks ago.

The promotion exercise, involving six senior chiefs and three other chiefs, came into being to fill the existing vacancies in the Ibadan Chieftaincy Traditional system.

The Olubadan prayed for the elevated chiefs to successfully climb the traditional ladder to the top and reign over Ibadan at God’s appointed time.

He charged them to continue to justify the confidence reposed in them by Ibadan people on whose behalf they hold in trust their titles.

“I charge you all to see your elevated positions and the future ones as call to Ibadan duty in particular and humanity in general. It calls for commitment, loyalty and sacrifice.

“I pray that our ancestors will back you and grant you the enablement to meet up with the demand of your respective titles,” Olubadan stated.

Nine elevated chiefs from the Balogun line received the traditional ‘Akoko leaves’ as the compulsory rite from the ‘Oluwo Afobaje’ of Ibadanland, Alhaji Wahab Idowu Popoola Mosadogun.

They included Senior Chiefs Akeem Bolaji Adewoyin (Abese), Barrister Sharafadeen Abiodun Alli (Maye) and Adegboyega Adeniran (Ekefa), Taiwo Anthony Oyekan (Agbaakin), Raufu Eleruwere (Aare Alasa) and Emiola Onideure (Ikolaba).

In the chiefs category were Barrister Tirimisiyu Arowolo Obisesan (Asaju), Wasiu Delodun Ajimobi (Ayingun) and Mikail Gboyega Orogun Modi (Aare-Ago).

The Osi-Olubadan and former governor of Oyo State, High Chief Rashidi Ladoja, was conspicuously absent at the elevation ceremony.

However, other members of the Olubadan-In-Council, including High Chiefs Owolabi Olakulehin (Balogun), Tajudeen Ajibola (Otun Balogun), Lateef Adebimpe (Osi-Balogun) and Kola Adegbola (Ashipa Balogun), were in attendance.

Present from the Otun line were High Chiefs Eddy Oyewole (Ashipa Olubadan), Biodun Kola-Daisi (Ekerin Olubadan) and Hamidu Ajibade (Ekarun Olubadan).

Leave a Comment