Senator Kola Balogun officially Joins APC, Says Makinde Is Serving Personal Interest

Senator Kola Balogun, the lawmaker representing Oyo South Senatorial District, has officially defected to the All Progressives Congress (APC).

Balogun was recieved into the progressives fold at the party’s secretariat in Oke Ado, Ibadan on Tuesday.

The defection followed weeks of silent war, following the decision of Governor Makinde, to deny the senator a ticket to return to the Senate for second term on the platform of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

He was received by the APC chairman in Oyo State, Hon. Isaac Omodewu, and the entire State Working Committee (SWC) as well as notable leaders of the party.

Balogun noted that the administration of Governor Seyi Makinde administration is serving personal interest and not the interest of the masses.

“I didn’t defect, I’m came back home. They are serving their personal interest and not the interest of the masses. There is security breaches across the state.

“Who uses diesel to power street lights in the 21st century if not that they are serving their own personal interest,” Balogun said.

Speaking, the elated party chairman, in his said he was happy that the APC is waxing stronger and better on daily basis.

”Yes we have misunderstanding withing ourselves in APC but we have resolved all the issues and there is no more crisis. We are united and by the grace of God we are returning to Agodi Government House in 2023.

“I have tried. We know have the three Senators in Oyo State in our fold. On behalf of President Muhammadu Buhari and the national leadership of the party, I welcome Senator Balogun into APC,” Omodewu said.

Omodewu later presented the party’s flag to Balogun.
Speaking, Balogun thanked members of the party’s SWC and NWC for giving him the opportunity to come back “home.”

Party stalwarts at the event include Hon Mojeed Olaoya, Senator Teslim Folarin, Senator Buhari Abdulfatai, Hon Asimiyu Alarape, Hon Yemi Aderibigbe, former Minister of the Communications. Barr. Bayo Shittu, Olamiju Alao-Akala, Demola Omotoso, Shina Peller, Dapo Lam-Adesina among others.


Leave a Comment